My first impresion on installing Grav

Hello folks, I have never used grav before and I’d like to share my first time impression on installing grav. Hopefully it will be useful for the developer to improve the app

1. Downloading the grav is easy. After extracted the package the folder structure scared me a bit, I though it’s abit bloated and started to think it’s not for average users

2. Then I tried to install it, some php error is bugging me and searching the forum for

Fatal error: Call to undefined function Symfony\Component\Yaml\ctype_digit() vendor/symfony/yaml/Inline.php on line 124 doesn’t returned any results thread even it’s actually already discussed before.

I finally found the solution by browsing the ‘installation’ section on the forum and luckily I found one post related to my problem in the page 1

1. The installation screen is quite impressive, it’s flat and have a modern feel, but the complexity of password’s complex strings requirement abit annoying me for installing it on localhost. Yeah, I usually using admin:admin when testing installing stuffs on my local machine

2. Ok, the success full page teach me that skeleton is a quickstart, I was abit confusing about the terminology and downloading a skeleton tell me what it is. IMO it’s abit misleading to use word ‘skeleton’ for it.

3. I tried to install a new theme by copying folder from the skeleton I downloaded before and then headed to grav admin. Activating the new theme is quite easy. Anyway because it’s advertised as a modern cms, I was expecting the settings was saved in real time (ajaxed) when I switch the config, instead of clicking the save button above.