Windows installation issues: 'mbstring' extension is not loaded

Hi there,
I am new to Grav and wanted to set up an environment on my PC to play around with it.
I’m using Windows 10, and I followed the following steps to install:

1. Downloaded Grav Core + Admin Plugin and extracted it to my wwwroot folder
  2. Installed PHP and added it to environment variables as per this article
    php -v PHP 8.0.1 (cli) (built: Jan 5 2021 23:43:33) ( NTS Visual C++ 2019 x64 ) Copyright (c) The PHP Group Zend Engine v4.0.1, Copyright (c) Zend Technologies
  3. Added the .php mime type to my IIS site as type text/html
  4. Enabled mbstring in the php php.ini-development and php.ini-production files in C:\php
  5. Created a “Hello World” script in an html page and browsed to it successfully on my browser
  6. This is where the trouble starts
    Tried to add a user to the admin plugin via command line as per this article
    On cmd I browse to the grav-admin/bin directory and run php plugin login new user
    and I am greeted with this error: 'mbstring' extension is not loaded. This is required for Grav to run correctly
  7. I also tried to browse to the …grav-admin\index.php page and I see this error: