Problem with user/accounts

Dear Grav community,

First of all, I am fairly new to Grav and totally new to this community so if I break any formal or informal rule in my post I regret on forehand. I have made extensive searchers to find a solution to my situation but without success.

I’m administrating a homepage that operates through Grav. I have mainly used the admin-plugin but after a computer malfunction, I have lost my password to the admin account. I do not receive an e-mail when using the “Forgot”-button. I’m now trying to solve this problem through the server (the page runs on a Droplet at DigitalOcean).

The first time I logged in through the Droplet, there was only a Zip-file. When unpacking it, I found the folders associated with Grav. However, the users in the folder user/accounts does not contain the users associated with the page that I have created through the admin-plugin. I have tried to change the password manually through edit the yaml.files of the existing users but cannot login. I also tried to add a new user through `php -f bin/plugin login newuser” but could not log in with the new user either.

Have I overlooked any possible solutions?

@johnjohnjohn, You could try to delete the user file in /user/accounts/user_xyz.yaml. You will then be forced to create a new account when accessing the site.

Thank you for fast response! I forgot to mention that I have tried this step but the strange thing is that I have not been forced to create a new account when accessing the site. Further, there are (non super-)users which are not visible on the server that I can still login with (even though I have emptied the folder on the server). I should add that I have restarted the server after removing all users

@johnjohnjohn, I’m afraid I haven’t much more to offer… Any progress since last reply?