Modifying Modular/partials Contents from Admin

I’m just getting started with Grav (Coming from Wordpress theme dev) and so far, I’m loving the potential that I’m seeing with Grav. I have some questions though.
I’ve read a lot of the documentation and have been digging through a several of the skeletons to get an understanding. I’m hoping to be able to use this for simple sites that my clients can make chages to through the admin plugin.

1. Is there a way to update the sidebar content without digging into the twig templates every time? My first thought would be to create a page template for sidebar (that isn’t visible on the front end) that they could add specific content to and then include that template within the blog template.
  2. For the Modular pages, I’m seeing a lot of the skeletons setup with great styling and layouts but when looking at how they are built, it doesn’t seem very user-friendly. For example, in the Holcyon Site skeleton, it looks like you have to modify the content in the different modules through their front matter. Is there a way to build that template so that the client could easily edit tha t content through the regular editor? In Wordpress Land it would be similar to a custom field or maybe a text widget area.

I don’t mind getting my hands dirty or doing more research, but if you guys could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome :slight_smile: Thanks!

Also, why are there no themes built with bourbon/bitters/neat? Maybe I can make a contribution to the community once I get my “sea legs!”

Hi,

1. Since Grav assumes nothing about the frontend, this must be handled by the theme. You can setup the theme to include a page, like you said, you can also add a setting to the theme blueprint to allow editing the sidebar content in the theme configuration.