Live website not updating/reflecting the changes

Hello.

I’m trying to make a couple of simple edits on a website originally built in 2019-2020. I’m a freelancer, not associated with the agency that built the website (the agency doesn’t exist anymore).

I’m not very experienced with Grav and I’m failing to get the live website to reflect the edit made in Grav.

What I’ve tried so far:

• Updated Grav to the latest version - 1.7.43
  • Cleared the cache in the Grav admin.
  • Cleared the cache by deleting everything that was in the grav/cache folder on the server.

The majority of plugins are not updated:

Could this be causing the issue? If it’s not necessary, I’d rather not update at this time, due to risk of something breaking terribly.

Also, on the server, in the Grav folder, none of the files and folders were updated/edited since the website creation even tho new files have been added to Grav admin in the meantime:

Also, when I try to preview the website through Grav admin, the hosting company website is opened, instead of the website:

Any help or direction would be much appreciated!

Thanks so much in advance!

I would never recommend developing on or editing a live site. Give yourself some peace of mind and create a clone of the site in a safe environment in your local environment or on a server. Then you can try stuff without fear of breaking the working live site.

You only need a copy of Grav’s user folder to reproduce the site. The first thing to do is get a default core Grav site (out of the box) working in your sandbox development environment. Then you can replace the user folder with your copy.

If you see a white page when you first replace your user folder, then there’s a good chance it’s this permissions problem.

I’m guessing the problems you have described are due to an outdated theme (which may or may not have been fixed) and the Admin plugin’s own theme. Updating everything is recommended in any case.