Having trouble creating modular template for new theme

I am new to grav, and have been playing around with it for the last week, and reading a lot of the documentation and viewing layout examples etc. I am starting to wrap my head around Twig, but I still can’t manage to figure out how to get the modular templates to work in a new theme.

I don’t want to inherit from a theme or start off by using a skeleton. Despite the fact they they are called skeletons I have seen many of them require you to bootstrap your theme using their chosen libraries. Take out their libraries and things you don’t need and you wind up with a barebones new theme which is where I am right now anyway :P.

Currently I have used the devtools to create a new theme which does not actually come with the modular template. I tried moving over the existing templates from the antimatter theme but they don’t work. I must be missing some other required files. I copied over the blueprints as well. I am not sure what else is required.

To summarize, I am creating a new theme for the website I am working on. I don’t need a lot because it is a simple project, however, I cannot get the modular templates to work by copying them over from the default antimatter theme.

docs are pretty clear even though modulars are little tricky

So create a folder structure like :

in modular.md

---
title: One Page Demo Site
menu: Home
onpage_menu: true
body_classes: "modular header-image fullwidth"

content:
    items: '@self.modular'
    order:
        by: default
        dir: asc
        custom:
            - _showcase
            - _highlights
            - _callout
            - _features
---

theses are your modulars, and also the order of appearance

- _showcase
- _highlights
- _callout
- _features

then inside modular folder, put md file. example : text.md

The template file for the text.md file should be located in the /templates/modular-folder of your theme, and should be named text.html.twig