Using Grav Skeletons in Docker

Hello!

I just wanted to record a simple method I used to utilize the grav skeletons in docker using (mostly) the Dockerfile found in the official docker repo for grav (GitHub - getgrav/docker-grav: Official Docker Image for Grav).

I am by NO means a docker expert, nor even altogether that literate with grav (I’ve only done the literal bare minimum to ever get anything working), but I figured this may help someone else that just wants what I believe is the easiest but still fairly “professional” (if such a thing can be used to describe my home server) setup to start with: A) spin up server via docker and B) start with skeleton. I believe it should work with most skeletons.

I made only 3 changes to the Dockerfile in the official repo:

1. I installed wget as I’m more familiar with it than curl.
  2. Replace the curl command with a wget command to retrieve the .zip file normally found on the github repo (can also be elsewhere).
  3. Modify the unzip command to output to the expected directory as the zips I found tended to directly contain the grav install (e.g. unzipping put assets/ bin/ etc. in the current directory)

Boom. Now all it needed to run was:
docker-compose up -d

A copy of my Dockerfile (using the “Sora Article” skeleton) can be found here:

Tested this on my raspberry pi and my x64 desktop with no noticeable issues. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yes, I started with the same docker repo and use it in all my Grav website projects today. Running Grav in a docker container is beautiful in many ways. To begin with, it isolates the dependencies from other projects on the local machine but at the same time your collaborators can run the website on their machines in the exact same environment too.