Run function from plugin admin only once, when saved

Hi. I’m new to Grav and making my first plugin. I’m trying create a ‘run once’ type of function from it’s admin page to pull data from another websevice into a yaml. I can’t figure out how to make my function run only when a button or toggle is selected, and then the admin page saved. My attempts:

1. I can’t figure out if I can add a custom submit button on the plugin’s admin page and catch that– I can’t see other plugins do this, so I guess not.

2. Using onAdminSave(Event $event){… I can get the value of a toggle (set in blueprints.yaml) and run my update event. But I can’t figure out how to modify the toggle’s event value… ie before its saved - ie put it back to the default value. Is this possible?

3. Using onAdminAfterSave(Event $event){… I can’t figure out how to modify the saved toggle value. I’ve tried $this->grav['config']->set('plugins.shortcode-mbg.do_updated', '0); with no success

Are these approaches workable or is there a better approach?

thanks!

@mikeb77, There are two approaches that come to mind:

Dirty:

• Load js (see Asset Manager) when Admin runs and route is ‘admin/plugins/myplugin’
  • Js adds a Button to the DOM of the plugin page
  • Button submits async call to server
  • Plugin:
    • catches async call,
    • calls webservice,
    • executes some logic to save the data
    • sends response back to front end

Cleaner (see plugin Comments):

• Add extra menu item in sitebar of Admin
  • Add custom page in Admin (called by menu)
    • Define page and template to show page
    • Template can contain anything you like
  • Button on page calls server asynchronously
  • Plugin:
    • See above…

thanks pamtbaau. i see how that may work.