Is it just me... or is anyone else challenged with menu creation?

I have tried a number of approaches.
I have posted a few of them here.
I am loving Grav, with one caveat… menu creation. I am sure I am overlooking something in the Docs, or maybe I just have unusual approaches, but I just can’t seem to get menu creation down.
Page Find with List Fields approach
Resuse modular content in different layout
Something is not clicking… any insight would be appreciated!

Its been over a year since i did this one… but heres what i have as an example, hoping it helps.

admin

user / pages

note, im not a pro grav user, just a schmo that hacked my way to find what i needed… hope it helps.

Thanks for this—but its a bit over my knob head.

Yeah, I am a little confused too.

I think it works based on:

• Its nominated “parent” (which I think can be different form its actual folder, but awkardly)
    ** if parent is root/, then its a top level nav item.
    ** if parent is another page which is itself item, then it is drop down / nested nav item
  • whether marked as visible/menu (whatever) or not - i.e. whether it gets listed in nav or not)

A ‘widget’ is a nice idea, but I suspect that doesn’t site well with its theme-orientated approach.

Worse comes to worse, its not too difficult to just hard code one in the twig in an inherited theme.

Hi @Ckka.
I don’t understand what you want to do. What do you mean by “I just can’t seem to get menu creation down.” ?

Do you mean that when creating your pages and sub-pages, the menu doesn’t display the dropdowns ? If that’s the case, there is an option in the admin panel (under “Configuration”) to toggle it.

If you want something more complicated, like I suspect by reading the two threads you mentioned, well my insight would be :

• To reuse the partial “navigation.html.twig”, or a clone edited as wanted.