Creating Search box in Main Menu

Hello. I am very new to GRAV and its inner workings. I’ve built a very basic site and have added the Simple Search plugin. I’d like to add a search box in the header/end of my main menu items. I can’t for the life of me find any easy to follow guidance.

Please provide the exact code and where exactly to put it. Thanks very much in advance.

Did you check Simple Search plugin docs?

I did but I did not find the instructions clear enough.

“After installing the SimpleSearch plugin, you can add a simple searchbox to your site by including the provided twig template. Or copy it from the plugin to your theme and customize it as you please:”

Where exactly would I put this line of code to have a search box show up in my main menu?

{% include ‘partials/simplesearch_searchbox.html.twig’ %}

Thanks so much for responding!

It totally depends on a theme you use.

@skq, What @Karmalakas meant to say is something like…

Updated
If I knew your theme’s templates I might be able to tell, but since I don’t know I’ll give a sample using Quark:

• Open file /user/themes/quark/templates/partials/base.html.twig, add a newline after line 53 and insert the following:

{% include 'partials/simplesearch_searchbox.html.twig' %}

• Open file /user/themes/quark/css/custom.css and add:

.dropmenu.animated {
      display: flex;
    }

This is needed to inline the navbar and the searchbox.

• Open de home page of the site and you should see something like:

• When entering a search term and hitting <return>, the results will be shown on page https://yourdomain/search

Of course, this is just a rough example to get you going.

Please note: You need an inheriting theme for this. Because when Quark gets a new version, your changes will be lost. An inheriting theme (aka child theme) is your own and will not be updated.

1 Like