Antimatter: How to edit the sidebar content?

Hello there,

I am very new to Grav and to the theme Antimatter I still don’t get everything:

• Where can I switch the sidebar on and off?
  • Where can I set the contents of the sidebar, i.e. maybe a search field, latest posts etc.?

Thanks!!

lousyweather,

Grav is a bit different than some of the popular cms platforms like wordpress in that there is no defined widget areas to be used for a sidebar. Grav is very versatile though and there are many ways to go about setting up a sidebar. Like with any cms you can modify your theme to add a sidebar but a simpler way is to create a hidden page called sidebar and add the content you want to show in the sidebar on that page. Then on your other pages where you want the sidebar to show you can use the page.find to get the contents from the hidden sidebar page.

Antimatter uses purecss ( http://purecss.io/) which makes added responsive grids quite easy in your pages so you could set up your page that you want a sidebar on like the following.

{{ page.find('/sidebar').content }}
Content Goes in this column

the page.find command will go out and get the content from your sidebar page and add it in that the first column and you can use that command on any page you wanted that same sidebar to show. The other column would be your content.

The great thing about this is that you can great pages that function like widgets in wordpress and can even call those pages from templates. You do however need to make sure the path is correct to your page for your sidebar.

I should add you can also assign a page to use the blog template which should have a sidebar area. Also there are themes on the themes page the have a default sidebar. https://getgrav.org/downloads/themes

You may want to also get the plugins the blog template uses: Simplesearch, Relatedpages, Random, Taxonomylist, Archives and Feed from https://getgrav.org/downloads/plugins

@lousyweather