Why GPM and not composer?

Hello, I’m new to grav. And i just wonder. Why is there even something like GPM? Why not use composer for plugins managment?

Composer is lovely, and yields a serenity only found with dependency-managers, but it is not all that easy to use for plugin- or theme-developers who already have little experience with version control. Also, packages within the GPM are all distributed as ready-to-go, so the installation only requires unpacking - not resolving dependencies. Thus the process does not depend on Composer, but only on Curl or Fopen within PHP.

I do agree, though, that the dependency-resolution of Composer would be a huge boon for the future of Grav’s ecosystem - but just like Git it takes some teaching.

I think that composer is much easier to understand than git. I think, dont’s using something just because it’s not super easy isn’t the best argument, and from user prespective, composer can be as easy as gpm. Composer (at least, what is needed for basic development) isn’t rocket science. And i would bet that anyone who can develop something with PHP met composer, at least as a user.

And when i look around, there are people demanding more advanced features in gpm. Like:
https://github.com/getgrav/grav/issues/1243
https://github.com/getgrav/grav/issues/1200

I think GPM will naturaly evolve to be more complicated, to by able to cover most of need features.

I really like Grav and it’s ideas, but GPM is more like reinventing wheel. For me it’s the single one thing, why i don’t use grav for my projects. I don’t think there can’t be developed something better than composer, but for project like grav, it would be overkill anyway.

Community around WP came up with https://wpackagist.org.

It would be really cool to integrate composer into grav. Or build gpm with composer as foundation. Wrap composer, to be more easily used, as gpm, but for advenced users, let it be composer.