Where to put the snippet for anchor menu in the twig file?

Hi there,

I’m new to wonderful grav CMS and would like to add a menu from anchors to the top of a page with lots of contents divided by h3 headlines.

I know that there’s a plugin called grav-plugin-anchors which I already have installed in my site. But I’m not sure where to put the code for the menu. In the readme of the plugin it says:

If you want to use the generated links to also generate a menu from these anchors, just put the function below in the template file Twig.
source: https://github.com/getgrav/grav-plugin-anchors

As a grav newbie I’m not sure where exactly to place the snippet in the blog.html.twig. I have tried several places but I always got an error. Maybe somebody has a hint for that?

@hanlie, Hard to tell what hint you need…

• Which theme are you using?
  • Which places did you try in blog.html.twig?
  • Which errors did you get?
  • Where do you want a list of anchors to appear?

Hi pamtbaau,

thanks for the quick reply. I use the default theme quark with a child-theme for custom adaptations. I tried to put the snippet

{{ anchors(content, tag, terms) }}

in blog.html.twig. I would like it put the toc on top of the page. The syntax error is:

A template that extends another one cannot include content outside Twig blocks. Did you forget to put the content inside a {% block %} tag?

My question is more in general. It’s the first time that I want to extend the code (apart from small css adjustments) and I’m getting the feeling that I’m missing some basic steps here. As I said I’m new to grav and definitely on newbie level.

@hanlie, I believe the answer is in the error message from Twig:

A template that extends another one cannot include content outside Twig blocks. Did you forget to put the content inside a {% block %} tag?