Trouble getting themes to load

I’m new to Grav, and I’m having trouble getting themes to load properly. I have it installed on my laptop and my VPS, Arch and Debian respectively, and when I change from Quark, it appears that the HTML doesn’t even get rendered. This is what I see:

<link href="/user/themes/grayscale/css/bootstrap.min.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet"> <link href="/user/themes/grayscale/css/grayscale.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet"> <link href="/user/themes/grayscale/css/font-awesome/css/font-awesome.min.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet"> <link href="/user/plugins/markdown-notices/assets/notices.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet">
Grav

<h1>My Home Page or Whatever...</h1> <h2>tips, tricks, interesting, ramblings, etc.</h2> <p>This page is somewhat a project to learn Grav as a CMS and blogging solution. I like it because I can write new articles, pages, whatever in vim using markdown and that's it. No stupid database to keep up with, the admin panel is largely optional... It just seems like a pretty slick solution. I don't really have much to talk about, so this is just a collection of short how-to articles and that sort of thing. It's not really for anyone but me.</p> <h3>Find out all about Grav</h3> <ul> <li>Learn about <strong>Grav</strong> by checking out our dedicated <a href="http://learn.getgrav.org">Learn Grav</a> site.</li> <li>Download <strong>plugins</strong>, <strong>themes</strong>, as well as other Grav <strong>skeleton</strong> packages from the <a href="http://getgrav.org/downloads">Grav Downloads</a> page.</li> <li>Check out our <a href="http://getgrav.org/blog">Grav Development Blog</a> to find out the latest goings on in the Grav-verse.</li> </ul>

Copyright © Grav 2014 · by VC