Timeline plugin and Quark theme menu

I’m an absolute newbie with grav and I’m in the process of setting up a website with it. I found the “timeline” plugin which does exactly what I wanted. However, once I’ve chosen the timeline page, the quark theme menu is gone. Is there any configuration or option that can be chosen to keep the menu so I don’t need to hardcode links back to the main page?

The Timeline-template, and its underlying Event-template, is standalone, and as such does not by default integrate any theme-elements. However, the Timeline-template exposes both a header and a footer template-partial that you can use for this purpose.

For example, in the header-template, which you can copy into your own theme, you could add

{% import 'macros/macros.html.twig' as macros %}

<ul {{ tree ? 'class="tree"' : '' }}>
    {{ macros.nav_loop(pages) }}
</ul>

which is what Quark uses to construct the menu.

1 Like

I’m assuming I’m doing something incorrectly. I’ve created my own theme which inherits everything from Quark (as per the grav docs) and then copied the " timeline_header.html.twig" into …grav/user/themes/mytheme/templates/partials.

With my custom theme and the timeline_header.html.twig with the above content, it looks like this in the timeline page:
Screenshot 2020-07-27 at 23.49.28

Is there something obvious I might be doing wrong?

Are you expecting it to render or style differently? The timeline_header.html.twig-partial would need to include the necessary styles, as the plugin itself only registers its own styles by default. You’ll also want to register them to the bottom-group, eg. {% do assets.addCss('theme://css/mycss.css', {'group': 'bottom'}) %}.

Well, I’m hoping I can get it to render differently. The timeline page is one of several pages on my web site. On other pages the menu renders like this: