Simple ubuntu GRAV localhost install

I’m a final user. I’m an engineer with some knowledge in programming, wanting to set up my own website (with a little help of friends). My system is ubuntu 14.04 now, (holding down the upgrades because of the well known pain of change).
Trying to set that website I choose Grav, essentially because of the said download-unzip-run talk.
I had try some searches in this category and cannot find what I think I need, this is why I’m here.
A friend had deployed a Grav install for me in a server in the web, a dummy site, I have tools to make remote maintenance of this site, but I want to have a copy of that site in my localhost, edit pages locally and upload complete sets of files to the web. You can tell me if I’m wrong to think that way. Specially if there are a better way of doing that.
I don’t have much daily time to my tries, but I have insisted in it a lot, for a fair amount of time scanning all viable help in Grav-site and the way around. I found the good old stack of problems, solve one appears the next. I have read many pages. I know, the problem is with me not in that helpful friends contributions. Well, I’m searching the next one, in a new place.
I choose the simplest theme I found (quark?).
In this way, I give up with the install in my base system and tried another ubuntu 14.04 in a VM. Problems were bigger. Grav reports that GD, XML, Mbstring and Zip libraries are not installed but they are!! So I returned to the host machine version.
Now I think I’m almost there. The symptom (now, next in the stack) is that when I try to access a test page, one like the 03.mypage, this message comes: “Not Found The requested URL /var/www/html/grav/index.php was not found on this server. Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu) Server at localhost Port 80”.
But the file is there!!
luis@Eridano:/var/www/html/grav$ ls -la
total 340
drwsrwsr-x 14 www-data www-data 4096 Jun 14 23:35 .
drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 4096 Jun 7 20:18 …