Sidebar for subpages

I’m thinking about a way to have different sidebars for pages.

The idea is to allow pages to have their own sidebar, but fall back to a default one. Bonus points for walking through parent pages/folders and use their sidebar until only the top level “default” sidebar is left.

I’m guessing I’d have to use modular pages for that, but since I just started playing with Grav, I’m not sure how I’d do that.

Why not use collection ?

I use this in a template to display pages at the same level as my current page:

<div class="nav-widget">
	<p>Quick access:</p>
	<ul>
	{% for p in page.parent.children %}
		<li><a href="{{ p.url }}">{{ p.menu }}</a></li>
	{% endfor %}					
         </ul>
</div>

Using siblings should be better but can’t make it work in Twig. So I take parent and then chldren to get all pages at the same levels.

You can look at macro too ; I use this for a menu ; you’ll miss the fist <ul>...</ul> which is in a parent file.

{% macro loop(page) %}
    {% for p in page.children.visible %}
        {% set current_page = (p.active or p.activeChild) ? 'active' : '' %}
        {% if p.children.visible.count > 0 %}
            <li class="{{ current_page }}">
                <a href="{{ p.url }}">{{ p.menu }}</a>
                <ul class="menu">
                    {{ _self.loop(p) }}
                </ul>
            </li>
        {% else %}
            <li>
                <a href="{{ p.url }}">{{ p.menu }}</a>
            </li>
        {% endif %}
    {% endfor %}
{% endmacro %}

{{ _self.loop(pages) }}

Hope it helps,
Nicolas

I do something similar to what you are looking for in my Grav Course Hub Project. There I support multiple courses (blogs), where each can contain its own sidebar. If no custom sidebars are found I then use the top-level one.

Twig:

Top-level structure:

Blog #1 structure:

Blog #2 structure:

Hope the above is of some help.