I don't get it

I am a web designer/developer. I am fluent in HTML5 and CSS3. Most of the sites I develop are either flat html or custom WordPress/Joomla/Magento sites. I do not understand why GRAV would be a better choice. Please explain why I would want to abandon html and learn markdown.

You’re not abandoning HTML or CSS. You making content easier to create with markdown. The idea behind Grav is to ditch the database and lots of unnecessary code to get a very lean and VERY fast site. You’re able to create your own template files with HTML in a much more flexible way and then add your content quickly with markdown. You’re also ditching clumsy text editor plugins that usually break code and using a much safer markdown language.

Between plain html sites and database-driven CMS, there’s a whole lot of space.

A bit of this space is filled by static site generators.

Some of this space is filled by flat file CMS, including Grav, which is way more flexible and reusable than plain html sites.

And more flexible and powerful than static site generators.

On a functional level, Grav does not yet offer all the gazillions plugins that other open source CMS offer, but on the other hand writing your own plugins is very simple and there are many examples ready to be examined on GitHub.

Advantages over traditional CMS:

• Simple to deploy
  • You don’t have to mess with databases
  • Merging staging and production sites is easy as you only manage files.
  • It’s just files. Keeping everything under version control is very simple. Including rollbacks.

Why to use grav, the answer is simple, you will build faster and modern websites.

Markdown is really easy, (in fact you are writing MD in this forum) and you can use html if you want. That is all you need to start working with Grav and there are some templates and pre-built websites called skeletons, not many for now, but Rockettheme.com have plans to build professional templates.