How to show blog categories using the taxonomylist plugin?

I’m new to GRAV and like it very much (a big thank you to the GRAV team!), but I have problems to understand the taxonomy and collections mechanism fully even after reading the docs several times and fiddling with the templates for days now.

I’ve set up my site using the antimatter default theme and did customize it to my needs. The site features a list of products with several categories such as “routers”, “switches”, “supplies” etc. In product pages I use the taxonomy category for those categories (“routers”, “switches” etc.) and the subcategory products for different items in the same main category.

Now I want to add a blog and did set up pages under the folder /blog with the category blog set in those pages as suggested in the examples. The list of related blog posts is generated using the taxonomylist plugin with taxonomy tags.

Now I want to further classify blog posts into different categories, but if I use:

{% include 'partials/taxonomylist.html.twig' with {'base_url':new_base_url, 'taxonomy':'category'} %}

to collect the subcategories of the blog, it shows me any categories used elsewhere.

How can I restrict collections of categories to the blog folder only? Should I have used another taxonomy instead of category for product pages (for example: class or something)? I think, I just don’t understand the concept of category vs. tags fully or how to restrict taxonomy lists to a part of the site only. Although the plugin lists tags/categories from elsewhere, it only creates links to the /blog route as defined in the yaml file, which is very confusing to me - why does the plugin not restrict taxonomy lists to this route, too, but collects taxonomies of pages from the whole website?

Please, can someone suggest a way how to structure product categories apart from blog categories?

Thanks in advance!