Hello,
I’m new to this.
I’d like to be able to input certain information when making a new post:

• Category
  • Tags
  • Author
  • Source Name
  • Source URL

(I’m making a news site which is mostly links to other sites)

I’m using the Admin plugin and the Project Space theme (because I like the layout)

in user/config/site.yaml I found a list of taxonomies and I added a few to it:

taxonomies:
  - category
  - tag
  - author
  - srcname
  - srcurl

sometimes these extra taxonomies appear in the admin plugin as textfields that I can input information but not always. I’m not familiar enough with the backend to understand why this is happening.

Have I done the correct thing - to add these taxonomy options? or is there a better / proper way of doing it? Might the Project Space theme (I installed the Project Space skeleton) have something to do with this?

Thanks so much for your help, bye
Adam

@adamburton Looking at the names of the newly added taxonomies I wonder what the intention is behind these new taxonomies. The names suggest you would like to add new fields to the header instead of ‘categorising’ blog items.

Taxonomy (general), the practice and science (study) of classification of things or concepts, including the principles that underlie such classification.

@pamtbaau - yes, you’re correct. Is there a more appropriate way to do this that also allows me to input this information as part of the page creation process in the admin plugin? rather than using taxonomies

thanks, bye
Adam

@adamburton You could try the following:

• First, you need to create you own inherited theme, else any changes you make will be overridden when the base theme gets updated. Creating an inherited theme can be done in two ways, manually and by using the ‘devtools’ plugin.

• Creating inherited theme manually
      Follow the first 5 steps in https://learn.getgrav.org/themes/customization#theme-inheritance to create the required files.