Grav GDPR compliant?

Hello,

I’m new french user on test with Grav :sunglasses:

I’ really amazed with user friendly using this CMS

I didn’t found how to configure cookie installation or cookie tracking on the CMS, the few plugin for privacy using are obsolete or abandoned

Does it mean that Grav is GDPR compliant and that I can use it as is in EU server whithout restriction ?

Thanks for your reply

best regards

Christophe

1 Like

Salut Christophe !

Disclaimer : I am not a lawyer, nor particularly trained in that field, so I might be wrong. Maybe others have more or different views, so don’t take my words for truth, but as a start of a discussion.

My starting point is that no software is GDPR compliant because ultimately it depends on what YOU do. If you store user data, track them, treat them … YOU need to be compliant, not the software.

At the lowest level, cookies that serve exclusively to make the site work do not need consent. See “Exemptions” : https://wikis.ec.europa.eu/display/WEBGUIDE/04.+Cookies - (most) people are aware that a minimum cookie is needed to make a site work, and that this cookie is not personal, but technical. Here you can assume implicit consent.

So a naked Grav will not require a cookie consent. Things change when you add tracking, user management and processing, but that’s evidently not a Grav functionality, but a business function. And that’s were you need to adapt software and adopt processes to make yourself compliant.

Hello Andrass,

thanks for your answers, it’s really clear for me and it’s that I had understood :sunglasses:

I want to use Grav to make a showcase site, so no personal data or internet navigation analyse function

The naked Grav will be for me perfect

thank you

Best regards

Christophe

If you’ll have the need for a contact form, don’t forget to make it GDPR compliant, it will need a checkbox asking for consent and probably a page with some privacy policy.