Cookbook gallery (+featherlight)

Hi!

Bear in mind, I am a novice user of grav.

Circumstances of my problem:
I am setting up a simple blog and I regularly want to add multiple images to a blog-post.
I am trying to solve this problem by using the simple gallery solution described in the cookbook combined with the Featherlight plugin.
My site uses the Saturn theme which I already nearly fully copied over after I made a child theme from it through inheritance.

My main issue is that I don’t fully understand the cookbook gallery description. Maybe I miss some basic stuff.
The structure of my site is very simple. Currently I only have a 02.blog/ and a 03.contact/ folder. (There is home/ dir without 01., I don’t need it so this way hidden)
In the 02.blog folder I have my blog-posts’ folders like 20170524 etc. Inside in a blog-post folder I have an item.md.
Earlier I thought I will create an img folder where I planned to store all th e relevant images to the actual blog-post.
I have created a gallery.html.twig according to the description of the gallery cookbook recipe in the grav documentation.
That I placed into my theme’s templates/ folder (actually tried multiple places, including partials/ and modular/, finally just left it in the root of templates/).
After that I have created an empty gallery.md in my blog-post’s img/ folder. And now comes up the actual problem: that is I don’t know how to reference/include/import the gallery.md file’s content
into my blog-post (item.md). I made several attempts edited this and that, tried find() twig function. I will not list everything here I tried.
The point is I don’t know how to include other md file’s content.

Finally I moved my images together with item.md and deleted img/ folder. I forgot to mention, I have meta.yaml files as well for every image. In these there is a title and description meta tag created for the images.