Quark theme guide

Hi all,

I’m new to Grav, always been using Wordpress. I’m trying to wrap my head around how the themes work, I’ve read all the docs and have a light grasp I would say.

I’m keen on using Quark to make it work. I need a site up and running fast so that I can concentrate and coding my aws plugs for it. I’m looking for a guide on the quark theme.

There are classes that can be used in the header such as base-classes, there are also hero options for the hero pages. Is there a document explaining all this?

How for example can I create a page with a video player centered horizontally and then have a list of thumbnail below it. Change the gradient of the background? Would using the custom.css be the way to go?

Thanks all and I appreciate your time.

@daredevil, welcome to the forum.

There is not much documentation on individual themes with respect to customisations. You will have to resort to the README’s on GitHub. For Quark you can find it here.

Since Quark is the default theme, it is often mentioned in Grav’s documentation as an example. In the section about theme customisation you will find more detailed info on customisations of themes in general.

Be advised to use an inherited theme. If you change the original theme you may risk loosing your changes when updating the theme.

Is ‘custom.css’ the way to go? Hard to say… It depends on your css/scss skills, your workflow, …

1 Like

Thanks for getting back to me.

My CSS isn’t bad. I would like to dig deeper into twig to understand it better but I’m a little short on time.

Going with Quark because it’s the default. Don’t want to mess around too much.

I created a copy of Quark for me to work on so I always have it to fall back on, thanks for that tip though.

What would be the best way for me to create a header attribute like hero_image: for example but as a boleen.