PHP script as plugin help?

Hello, I just want to have a log file with user IP and agents of who is visiting my homepage.
I managed to modify a PHP script that does it, but Grav does not allow direct PHP inside pages :frowning:

Could anybody make this script into a plugin that would run on mainpage.html.twig and write the log?

<?php $date = new DateTime(); $rdate = $date->format('Y-m-d H:i:s'); $ip = $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']; $agent = $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']; $hostname = gethostbyaddr($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']); $file = "bla.txt"; $fh = fopen($file, 'a'); fwrite($fh, '/---'.$rdate."``` "); fwrite($fh, '| '.$ip.' '.$hostname." "); fwrite($fh, '| '.$agent." "); fwrite($fh, '\------'." "); fclose($fh); ?>

Sorry if this is not the right place, but I have no coding experience and don’t know anything about PHP plugins.

You should write a simple plugin or add some logic to your theme class to domthenspecific task you wish.

While having a php twig pass through is possible, it’s not advised for security reasons.

But I don’t know how to write a plugin adding logic.
How to add php inside twig?

@marymaruda, You could see my Log Errors Plugin (logs 404 erros to file) as an example, the logic will be very similar. Of course you will need the correct event. see events reference here.

So this should be ok?

<?php

namespace Grav\Plugin;

use Grav\Common\Plugin;
use RocketTheme\Toolbox\File\File;
use Symfony\Component\Yaml\Yaml;

class LogerrorsPlugin extends Plugin
{

/**
     * @return array
     */
    public static function getSubscribedEvents()
    {
        return [
            'onPageInitialized' => ['onPageInitialized', 1],
        ]; 
    }

/**
     *  if page not found found saves data
     */
    public function onPageInitialized()
    {
        $this->uri = $this->grav['uri'];
        $this->savelog($this->uri->url);
    }

/**
     *  Saves data to the log file
     *  - creates or append not found errors url, time and HTTP_REFERER