How to filter posts in categories

Hi there,
I’m Berni from germany and the total newbie in Grav. However I want to remove a website from Wordpress to a flat CMS and after some trials with SimpleCMS and Bludit I found that Grav is the best solution for men.
My website is quite simple: some static pages and a blog about motorcycles and riding. I use 5 categories for the posts : Bullet1, Bullet2, Vespa, events, something_total_different. Tags are not used yet.

Basicly the site works: static sites OK, the blog with hundred of posts and thausend of images works fine.

Now I have to solve a problem: Filtering the posts with the categories. Best would be to have a page with navbar where the categories are listed and a click activates the category filter and shows only the corresponding posts.

I read in this forums for hours and often I thought, I have the solution. But whatever I do, my page only shows all of the posts.
Firstly I was convinced that my problem is really easy to solve, but till now I did’nt find a suitable way.
I tried to enter the filter in the .md file of the page but it din’nt work.

Any hint for me? And please consider: I am that newbie! I have no basics in Grav, however I work on this. So please keep any answer as simple as possible.

Thx & regards
Berni

Did you try using collections?
I usually create a listing page (in Quark it’s blog template) for each category, and set it to display category collection, as per this docs.
Honestly I believe that there is a way to use filtering based on url params, or something like that, but this seems far easier to me personally :slight_smile:
Then you can make a category list really simply, by displaying (in sidebar or otherwise) only Pages of type Blog, or perhaps set custom header field like category and displaying given page only if it’s header.category is true… Or in a dozen of other ways :wink:
Hope this helps a bit!