Get html in plugin

How can I get the HTML for a route?

I am working on frontend editing plugin and want to preview a page (route) (or modular root route) in a <div>.

The quickest way is to set the src of an <iframe> to the full path, but modern servers now may prevent that because of cross site attacks.

I cannot find a function that is like

$html = $page->processAll()

which I can call in a plugin and have it sent by AJAX.

I don’t know the answer. I’ve never done something like this before. But be sure to check the API docs. The function processMarkdown() might do what you want.

@Perlkonig,

I was looking at the GRAV hooks and found onOutputGenerated. It mentions that the output is now html. So how do I gain access to this string?

I have just submitted a new plugin content-edit to the GRAV team.

The aim is to offer frontend editing. With an <iframe> any route can be seen on some servers. I have tried processMarkdown(), but the plain vanilla function doesn’t return anything, eg., the html.

The API docs are not that complete or easy to understand unless you already understand them :frowning:

@finanalyst After some digging using the debugger, I found a variable ‘output’ in the object tree of ‘$this->grav’. This variable ‘output’ contains HTML. With some trial and error I finally found it can be accessed using:

$html = $this->grav['output'];

Somehow this output is already populated in ‘onPageInitialized’…

Very interesting. Thanks for the tip.

But like you said, there should not be any output in onPageInitialized. I wonder if this is the cached output.

@finanalyst When I edit the page in vscode and refresh the browser, ‘output’ contains the new HTML. So it probably isn’t from cache. Whether cache is enabled/disabled also does not make a difference.

I tried dumping $this->grav inside the plugin ‘onPageInitialised’, but …grav[‘output’] is null.

@finanalyst What do you mean by ‘dumping’?

When looking in the debugger the tree:

> $this
   > grav