Copied website not indexed by Google

Hi all,

I am new to discourse but have been using grav now since a few years. Thanks for the great work here.

Some site I have up and running is nice and I want to reuse its theme and some of its content.
I thought doing a backup to copy the backup over to a new server (extract it there) and make it visible under another URL, modify content and pictures and done.

But here is my question:

• A few months now but the new website (derived from the backup) does still not show up on google, even when I search for the exact URL in google it is not found. Why is that? Is a backup from one site not suited to use as a starting point for another website? The old website from which I derived the backup is well indexed in google.

I have some ideas why the backup might not be ideal as a starting point for a new website but couldn’t quite figure out why this prevents a derived site to be unique and visible to google.

1. Maybe some unique identifieres (like security tokens) have to be recreated?

Did anyone of you try a similar approach to reuse an grav installation?

Or does anyone here have a suggestion how to edit the new website so that it becomes an indepentent and visible website?

Thanks for any hints.

Do you have different robots.txt on a new site maybe?

@MJR, Google only indexes sites it can find…

• Is there any other indexed site that links to your site?
  • Did you submit your site to Google?

And there may be other reasons why Google doesn’t index it

• Google might consider the website to be not relevant or trustworthy.
    • Is the content different enough from the original website?
    • Does it have a different sitemap?
    • Does it…
  • Has the Google bot been blocked in robots.txt
  • Have your pages been set to noindex?
  • Other reasons…?

Hi @Karmalakas,

thanks for the hint to robots.txt. Actually I didn’t change the robots.txt. Here is the content:

User-agent: *
Disallow: /backup/
Disallow: /bin/