[SOLVED] Accessibility for blind visitors

I am a beginner with Grav and now i am testing the Quark theme for blind visitors. Unfortunately it is not accessible as it is not possible to navigate in the main menu to reach any submenu with the tab key. I have tried to implement the method described on this site:

Solved with CSS! Dropdown Menus

Seemed nice since it’s without js. In a custom.css I have tested:

.dropmenu ul li a:hover, ul li a:focus-within > ul . . .

.dropmenu.animated ul li a:hover > ul, ul li a:focus-within > ul . . .

…in different variants. No luck so far. Does anyone have a suggestion how to proceed properly?

Hello, @Zebull!

I’m not very familiar with the Quark theme and I just very quickly skimmed the article you linked to. But I’ve just recently implemented a dropdown menu for my own theme and since nobody else got around to answer your question …

If I understand you correctly, you’re trying to turn Quark’s menu into a CSS based dropdown by adding CSS. To be honest, I don’t know if that is possible (i.e. if the HTML structure produced by Quark’s template is suitable.) But even if it is: Writing and testing CSS of any more than trivial complexity is somewhat hairy. I would rather start from scratch and develop template and CSS (SCSS, rather) together from scratch.

Implementing a real world dropdown is more involved than these kind of explanatory articles let on. (They’re great for explaining the logic, though.) For starters, a real world menu would have to function as an accordion menu on mobile devices at the same time.

I’d recommend you write a feature request to the Quark developers on Github and ask for implementing accessibility. I’m sure they’d welcome this, especially if you are knowledgeable and willing to test.

Hi @Utis